York's Newest Holiday Rental - Situated in central York opposite the Museum Gardens

Reviews

We really hope you enjoyed your stay, please feel free to leave your review of 58 Marygate here: 

Add Guestbook Entry

Thank you for a fabulous stay in this lovely cottage....the perfect place to explore York and celebrate two big birthdays with close friends. — The Friday Friends, 11 May 2108
We had a wonderful time in this well located, cosy house. Thank you for the best. It was excellent! We really loved the house from first sight. It is beautifully refurbished and was a relaxing place for us. We hope we are allowed to come back. — Rostock, Germany, 14 Jul 2018
WOW !!!! Louise and Tim thank you for sharing your beautiful cottage with us. My husband and I came back to York with my brother and sister for a trip down memory lane, it was amazing we toured York as tourist for 12 days, we visited all the places we grew up in, returning every night to the cottage were we felt right at home, you have put so much thought into providing everything your guests would need, we did not want for anything, the beds and bedding were very luxurious, We loved the fact you were across the street from Museum Gardens leading to the city center. and also across the street from St Olaves church were my husband and I were married 46 years ago. So many new memories were made, hope to return to cottage in the future with our grandkids.

Best wishes Sandra E. Sanger CA USA
— Sandra Edwards, 08 Jul 2018
Thank you Louise for making our stay in York a happy one. We were celebrating a special Birthday so everything about the house made it special. Great location, lovely walking through the park and seeing the squirrels running around. Great location, would definitely recommend to friends and family and would love to come back. — The Brady Bunch, 05 Jul 2018
Thank you for opening up your lovely home, and allowing us to stay in it. We all felt very comfortable during our stay. We are here from the USA to revisit York, as we are all from here. We shared many memories and managed to see everything on our list. Being able to come back to your lovely cottage was a pleasure every evening. You have thought of many details to please your guests and take care of their needs. Again, thank you and best wishes — Lorraine, 03 Jul 2018
We cants thank you enough for sharing your beautiful cottage with our family. We felt right at home as soon as we walked in the door. My sister in law wanted to stay for forever - my brother in law not so much as he’s 6’5”!!! Your location directly across from the gardens and the gateway to central York was perfect. I haven’t walked so much in quite a long time. Thank you — The 3 generations, 25 May 2018
Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful home with us. We had a lovely time and really can’t wait to come back! — Jennifer and Lee, 24 Apr 2018
Thank you very much! Your cottage is so beautiful. We had a fantastic week! We felt very comfortable in this cosy atmosphere.

— The Struckmeimeier’s, 24 Mar 2018
Comfortable house for our brief stay in York and accessible for all we wanted to see and do. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to come back at some time. — Anne and family, 21 Mar 2018
Thank you for putting the effort into all the little details that made this an excellent home from home. In fact, as others have said before, better than home! Our kids enjoyed the Museum Gardens and we went to the NRM every day. Looks like we will have to come back! — Sally and party, 05 Mar 2018
We had a super weekend. We will definitely come back. Thank you! — Jenny and family, 02 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. We were here for our wedding and everything was perfect - a really beautiful setting for a week we will never forget! — The Howard family, 21 Feb 2018
Thank you we had a lovely week and I would highly recommend it to others. — Claire and family, 11 Feb 2018
Dear Louise, If it wasn't devalued estate-agentese I would say this cottage was deceptively spacious. The trick is due to the house expanding in a remarkable way at the back and on the first floor. 8 of us stayed for a weekend in January and we were much more than comfortable in this well appointed (more platitudes, but it is) cottage. Not only is it very close to car parking (rare in York) but we could saunter through the park for breakfast in the art gallery, nip over the bridge to the station or scurry back home from the Minster in just a few minutes. We've struggled to find *anything* to criticise, the worst we can think of is that the teapot is a bit too genteel to be genuinely Yorkshire - for a group of 8 at any rate!
It really is as good as it gets - charming, functional, totally attractive and everything working as it should. What a joy to walk about in ‘stocking feet’ in frosty weather enjoying underfloor heating in the kitchen! Nick

This has been a lovely place to stay for Diana’s special weekend - all the family together and a wonderful place the relax. Judith

The upstairs bathroom in particular is amazing! That bath is glorious! Thank you for letting us stay in such a wonderous location. Jill

Fantastic Louise - beautiful home, excellently appointed and everything we needed for a great weekend. You are a perfectionist - every detail is wonderful. Makes me want to live in York - the position is the best in the City!!! Many many thanks, Diana. P.s. Birthday was wonderful!!!
— Nick, 19 Jan 2018
Beautifully presented house in the heart of York. Had a great stay and Louise is very responsive and helpful. — Stuart Lynch, 12 Jan 2018
What a beautiful home! An amazing location, beautifully furnished, great attention to detail, and finished to an incredibly high standard. The pictures are great but the reality is even better. If you want a comfortable, high quality house close to the center of historic York then this is the perfect place to stay! Thanks to Louise for a wonderful New Year stay! — David, 03 Jan 2018
We’ve enjoyed a cosy family Christmas here, in warmth and comfort. it was exciting to find a decorated tree here just waiting for our presents!
The bath tub is amazing as is the underfloor heating in the kitchen and the big oven made for a perfect Christmas dinner.
— Joseph Earl, 27 Dec 2017
This property is extremely central so all the main tourist areas are within easy walking distance- crucial given the traffic problems in York! The house is very comfortable and well equipped, although I would not recommend it for those with any mobility issues as the stairs are quite steep and narrow and there are low doorways. The Christmas tree was a lovely touch! — Stella Bury, 17 Dec 2017
Superb location tastefully decorated extremely comfortable would highly recommend this property. Thank you for a most enjoyable stay in York. The house is perfectly situated and so very well appointed. Everyone in our party has had a wonderful time. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year with best wishes — Paul Smith, 11 Dec 2017
We have had the most enjoyable and relaxing few days here. Your house is wonderful, a welcoming atmosphere in such an atmospheric house. We were all very very comfortable and had great nights sleep in really comfortable beds! York was just as lovely, a perfect way for us to get into the Christmas spirit. — The Bliss family and friends, 04 Dec 2017
Many thanks Louise for letting us stay in your lovely house. It was a very warm and comfortable place to return to after our daily Christmas shopping sprees. It has been beautifully decorated and tastefully finished. Also thank you for the little food and drink goodies. We would have no hesitation in coming again.

We found 58 Marygate to be a stylish, beautifully presented and perfectly situated property ideal for our short stay in York with family and friends. Loiuse proved to be a highly efficient & responsive host meeting all our needs. We would love to return soon.
— Famous Five, 29 Nov 2017
This is a near-perfect AirBnB. We found the house spotless, and it's located in a great part of York. It's close to the center of town, but is on a quiet street, with an entrance right onto Museum Gardens close by. There's a nearby grocery store down the road, and a great pub even closer. As locals, we needed a larger place to host visiting family from outside of the country, and the house was absolutely what we needed. It was kid friendly, comfortable, and gorgeous. We will definitely stay again when family comes back around! — L Meghan, 24 Nov 2017
Thank you, thank you, thank you! This home is so lovely and well appointed. We’ve stayed in 40+ Rentals around Europe and this was an absolute favourite! So cosy and elegant - we could stay ages! We hope to return soon!
Louise is a fantastic host and keeps a fantastic house. Great communication. Easy check-in and check-out. Clean. Spacious. The location is great for walking to anywhere within the York walls and surrounds. It's proximity to the train station also makes a visit to the area possible without a car. Highly recommend.

— The Musick family from Virginiaand Tennessee, USA, 11 Nov 2017
Thank you Louise for everything. such a beautiful well kept cottage in a wonderful location. the kitchen really brings people together and our kids loved the bath. We really did not want to leave so hopefully we will be back soon! — Morrice and Holtzer family, 02 Nov 2017
Lovely place and close to centre of York. Had dinner at Mr P's Curious Tavern and Melton's which were both excellent! — James, 30 Oct 2017
The most amazing house in the best location!! Such a lovely house, so close to great facilities / site seeing activities. The house is really well equipped and beautifully decorated. We have really enjoyed celebrating David’s 30th Birthday here. Hopefully we will be back soon. thank you for all your help. — Elizabeth, 27 Oct 2017
The moment we walked into the cottage in Marygate we felt at home. It had a natural warmth and a welcoming atmosphere. The kitchen had all the equipment we might need and the welcome hamper was a lovely surprise. We loved the comfortable lounge, the fluffy bathrobes, the rain showers and so so cosy beds. We are a family of 7 and there was plenty of room for everyone. The children especially loved being able to watch TV in their bedroom when they had woken up before us. This is one of the nicest holiday cottages we have ever stayed in. The location couldn't be better as the cottage is directly opposite the museum gardens and the Minster and all the museums are all within easy walking distance. The cheapest and most convenient long-term parking we found was in North Street, just a 10 minute walk away, through Yourparkingspace. Once we we had parked the car it stayed in the car park until we came home. — Fran, 22 Oct 2017
We loved our stay in this home from home cottage. everything was just right - comfortable beds, cosy kitchen, comfortable sitting room and fabulous showers. what a wonderful setting just by the Museum Gardens and the river! Jorvik Museum, The Castle Museum and the Railway Museum are just fantastic. — The Vincent and Ward families, 20 Oct 2017
A fantastic place to stay- so close to all the attractions and a beautifully equipped and designed home. Louise was very sweet and left us lots of good treats. She also accommodated our needs. We would definitely stay again! — Danielle, 08 Oct 2017
Yes, a wonderful weeks holiday. Thank you. I love all your design decisions on your home. — Dava, 23 Aug 2017
Another ‘amazing’ holiday in this beautiful cottage. Hectic time with 2 grandchildren aged 1 and 3. We have had a great family time and my daughter got ready for her wedding here. Hopefully we will have some lovely photos I can send to you. Thank you so much, we love it here. — Elaine Edwards, 19 Aug 2017
This 'home from home' setting was perfect for exploring York and the surrounding area. It was easy to find and when we arrived the welcome package of essentials as well as some delicious treats got everyone in the family off to a good start. It's a warm and cosy home which is clean and tidy with lots to help the whole family settle in quickly. We would recommend this home! — Janice, 18 Aug 2017
We all want to say a huge thank you for a wonderful week in this ‘home from home’ setting. We’ll take home lots of wonderful memories of a fabulous holiday in York. What made it all possible was the fact that every one of us felt at ease and comfortable. We were able to relax whilst enjoying all the home comforts - lovely bedrooms, great bathrooms, a cosy lounge and a fabulous kitchen! Thank you! — The Devon and Hardy families, 11 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for allowing us to stay in this beautiful home. We have been very comfortable. Makes such a difference to have such quality items in a home stay. The location for us was perfect. — The Plunkett Family from News Zealand, 06 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your cosy, organised home. We are also very great full for both the hamper of delicious hamper and the file of food, attractions and others helpful points. York has been great fun and thank you so much once again. We could not have asked for a better stay : beautiful and accessible area, a park and so many attractions nearby and much more. Hopefully we have left your house in good condition. — Sau Ying Lim, 30 Jul 2017
This is a charming house in a quiet but central location. It is beautifully presented with many thoughtful touches (fluffy bathrobes, high quality bed linen, plenty of coat hangers, proper napkins, a gorgeous well appointed kitchen to die for) added to our comfort and ensured that we really relaxed in luxury.
Our son was performing in Britton’s opera ‘Albert Herring’ which was being put on by Aspect Opera in Rownstree Park - great fun and we were lucky with the weather. We also enjoyed walking the City walls, visiting the Minster, strolling through the ancient streets and marvelling at the elegant beauty of Fairfax House and its contents.
Two of the rooms are rather small (one with bunk beds and the other with a sloping ceiling) and outside space is somewhat limited, but we enjoyed our five night stay tremendously.
— Diane, 22 Jul 2017
We came to stay for a few days with extended family for our daughters graduation from the University of York. Lovely cottage, very comfortable. Everything throughout couldn't of been any better! Delicious cake and prosecco welcome. Perfect location - quiet yet easy walk into town. Thank you — The Cawte Family, 16 Jul 2017
We loved everything about 58 Marygate. Louise was very kind to work with us in regards to getting into the house on our schedule and she was very responsive to emails. The house itself is beautiful - exactly as pictured. Very clean. It is on a quiet side street. The kitchen was fully equipped which was great. A grocery store is right up the street! Laundry and dishwasher were also very convenient. The kids (and adults) loved watching Netflix during down time. On our last night, there was an orchestral concert with mini-fireworks show in the adjacent park. We sat in one of the bedrooms and watched the show. It was very special. If we find ourselves back in York, we will definitely be staying here. — Sarah, 11 Jul 2017
We had a fantastic stay. What a beautiful cottage you have! Literally a home from home experience with lots of lovely little added extras. Thanks again — Miles, Bain and Walker families, 04 Jul 2017
Our family loved this beautiful, cozy and clean cottage. It is in the perfect location in York! Very walkable and close to all the great things York had to offer. Louise was friendly and very responsive! Highly recommend this cottage. Louise, Thank you again for a great stay in York. — Frances, 30 Jun 2017
We enjoyed a wondeful stay in 58 Marygate. The house is so attractive and comfortable. We walked everywhere and especially enjoyed strolling through the Museum Gardens! Thank you for a lovely stay. We are already planning a return trip to York! — The Brockingtons, 25 Jun 2017
Thank for allowing us to use your property which i know you have recently renovated with love and care. It has proved to be an extremely convenient base for us to enjoy our wedding nearby and our families were especially impressed with the careful design and results that you have achieved. Many thanks for the trouble you went to help us, and the warm welcome received. Kind Regards, Ashley and Samantha. — Ashley and Samantha, 07 Jun 2017
We have had such a lovely stay in York. The house is beautiful and in a perfect location. It is so clean and well equipped. Thank you for the lovely welcome basket too, a real treat. We would definitely stay again and will recommend to others. thanks — Claire Wojtkiw, 24 May 2017
I can not rate this cottage highly enough. It is perfect in every way. Beautiful, stylish decor. Gorgeous comfy beds and quality linen and towels. Rented this cottage for one week for my adult children, who all live in New Zealand, who had all flown home for my daughters wedding at the Hospitium. We couldn't have wished for a more perfect location. Myself and the bridesmaids could walk through the museum gardens to the venue. Louise had left Prosecco, beers and homemade cake for our arrival. Delicious! Thank you Louise. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend your cottage to all. Five star accommodation. — Caroline and family, 16 May 2017
Thank you very much! Had a great few days - lovely house with all you need. Excellent location. Hope to come back soon. — The Ellis family, 01 May 2017
Two teachers and five students stayed in this cottage for five days in April and we really enjoyed the stay. The cottage is marvelous and we can recommend it to families and others. The location is great, just a short walk through Museum Garden and you are in the city center. York is fantastic. We had a great time in York. We were quite excited about the cottage before we came, but it was as perfect as we thought. Luckily, the cottage has 2,5 bathroom, because we traveled with five teenagers. The kitchen is marvelous: a lot of equipment and space around the table for eating, as well as playing board games. The location was perfect for us and we really explored what York had to offer. Thanks for everything, Louise. We will definitely be back. Greetings from two teachers and five students from Norway. — Nina, 28 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely welcome. We have had a brilliant weekend - just not long enough. We can't wait to return in September to this beautiful cottage! — Elaine and family, 23 Apr 2017
We have had a lovely stay in you lovely cottage. It is very well equipped and is a high standard. The cottage is in an ideal location for exploring York. The 'Yorkshire' hamper was also a great little treat. We have all had a fantastic few days celebrating a big Birthday for one of our friends. We hope to return to this gem of a cottage one day. Thank you — Pam, Georgina, Helen, Julie, Susan (Birthday Girl) Anne, Alison and Janet, 26 Feb 2017
What a beautiful property! Great house for a bridal party - great to get ready in and brilliant for photos. Thanks so much! — Alexandra and her bridesmaids, 19 Feb 2017
Lovely cottage, great location just a little way from the centre. It's a lovely walk through the museum gardens to the city, and not far. We had someone on crutches and 2 in their late 70's with us and the walk was not too far. Louise communicated well with us both before and during our visit and was very helpful. I would highly recommend 58 Marygate. The website won't let me rate cleanliness, accuracy and check-in, but I would give these all 5 stars — Juliet Reid, 10 Feb 2017
HUGE THANKS for sharing your beautiful cottage with our family ove the New Years week!!! We were able to celebrate as a family while enjoying all York has to offer. From welcoming treats to all of your furnishings and conveiences - it was perfect! Your kitchen, living, bed and bath rooms were perfect and gave everyone space to enjoy being with each other!It was also perfectly located for our whole family to visit with our 'York' daughter, son-in-law, and baby, including the very special New Years Baptism. Thank you also for your patience with our questions - and the quick responses. It was much appreciated. If you are ever in San Francisco - don't hesitate to call or email.... Many, many thanks again!!!! — Sara, Chico, Megan, Glynis, Oliver and Mary... and Susanna, Mark and Bram Cooper, 06 Jan 2017
Thank you for making our stay in York so wonderful. The cottage is beautiful and we had a lovely stay. The location is perfect and it made our Christmas stay even more special. Thanks for the drinks and the lovely pies. All gone!!! We hope to return soon. — Abbey, 28 Dec 2016
A quick message to say thank you so much for our wonderful stay- the cottage was perfect. Beautiful furnishings and wonderful location. The mince pies and prosecco were also delightful! Many thanks and Merry Christmas — The Davies family, 23 Dec 2016
We had such a lovely time in York! The house was the perfect stay, the 'home of our dreams', just in front of the museum park (full of squirrels!) The prosecco and the chocolate went down very well! We enjoyed playing music here and we hope we can give you a concert next time, when we will come back! — The Goldfinch Ensemble, 02 Dec 2016
Just a quick note to say thank you for letting us stay in your lovely home. It has been clean and comfortable, great location and very enjoyable, thanks! Just great. We had a lovely time. The house is great, very clean, top quality bed linen, towels, etc. Very close to the centre of town, easily within walking distance. Had a great welcome box with biscuits and wine. There was milk in the fridge and coffee, tea etc. A very comfortable stay and would stay again if we return to York. Thank you so much Louise! — Deborah and family, 25 Nov 2016
The house is very lovely. I really fell in love it with it at first sight. We had a great stay and good night sleep for a week. Thank you for the lovely welcome cake and notes from you. If we have a chance coming back York again, I would honestly say i will definitely choose your house. Thank you for the fabulous accomodation, very warm welcome,Louise Louise is great. The house is perfect to stay, everything is perfect! :)
— Mingkamol from Thailand, 14 Nov 2016
Thank you for everything - from the organising to the fantastic welcoming treats! A perfect location and fantastic place to explore York from. This did not disappoint. Thanks for your place and we will fondly think of this cottage in York. — Wim and team from South Africa, 02 Nov 2016
On behalf of the contingency from Scotland we would like to thank you for your wonderful stay in York in your beautiful cottage. Everything was perfect. We will certainly recommend you to everyone back home. — The Morrisons and The Hamilitons, 14 Oct 2016
Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely house. There was 8 of us celebrating my big 40! The house is lovely with everything in it that we would need. Very luxurious, thank you so much. — Joanne, Hector, Claire, Louise, Arlene, 14 Oct 2016
What a fabulous weekend we had. 7 ladies celebrating a certain "0" birthday. We were blessed with the weather too. Such a fabulous house, great towels and bed linens and comfy beds. Fantastic location. We hope to return one day. Thank you! — Maggie and friends, 03 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for providing a perfect house, cake, goodies, everything we could need! The house is so beautiful, perfectly positioned. It is so central but quiet. I would definitely recommend people staying here! We had a fab time and can't wait to come back!
— Anna and family, 12 Sep 2016
Absolutely lovely house. It was the best stay my family and I have ever had. The little extras make all the difference. What a lovely feel it has! Thank you — Jose, Katie and family, 31 Jul 2016
We had a lovely stay at Marygate! 8 adults and 3 babies... The house is great and thank you so much for the cake and treats. We had a great time singing in the Minster with our choir. — Katie and friends, 29 Jul 2016
Very high quality rental property, beautifully fitted out complete with complimentary bubbles, snacks & home made cakes on arrival. It is in a great location, just across from the museum gardens and a short walk into the heart of York. If I had to find a criticism, the back yard is small and access is through the downstairs bunk bedroom, but this is as described in the details. The owner went out of her way to help us when we asked for a spare set of keys. It is a great base to explore the centre of York from and I would thoroughly recommend it. A wonderful weekend, beautiful cottage, fabulous welcome and good friends. Cheers! — Mandy Nicklin and friends, 18 Jul 2016
Excellente adresse, excellent accueil. La maison de Louise est très confortable et extrêmement bien équipée. On se sent tout de suite très bien dans cette maison. Une attention toute particulière vous est apportée avec des spécialités locales. Bravo Louise pour la décoration très soignée de votre maison! Vous êtes à 2 minutes à pied du centre de York.

We would like to thank you for your warm welcome and your nice house. You made everything easier to help our move back to France. We spent our last days in York after 3 years living in this beautiful City and we couldn't have found a better location! The children could go to school on foot whilst we waited for our house sale to complete. Thanks for the array of help with our baby and your flexibility. We will recommend 58 Marygate (and your cakes) to our family and friends! Thank you once again!
— Juliette and family, 11 Jul 2016
Thank you for a lovely weekend. The cottage is just beautiful. The bag of goodies is a really lovely touch and the cottage is extremely comfortable. We will be recommending the cottage to family and friends! — The McCaitan family, 01 Jul 2016
Our stay at 58 Marygate made our family reunion in York complete. From the moment we entered this charming cottage, we felt relaxed and completely at home. The standard of refurbishment of this cottage is excellent and the attention to detail evident from the quality of bed linen, towels, beautiful bedrooms, tasteful calm decor, bathrooms, and the fabulous custom kitchen. It is also spotlessly clean which is a really, really important factor. Our goodie box with Prosecco, welcome card and beautiful cake made us feel very at home! The location could not be better. A few steps from the front door across the road and you enter Museum gardens where a short walk through this beautiful park leads you straight to the Gates. Two minutes to the right takes you to the river and again, a short walk along the river across Lendel Bridge into town. This cottage is absolutely charming and our only regret was that we couldn't have stayed longer. There isn't any parking with the cottage, and so the use of the rear public car park two minutes away could be costly at £12 per day over a long stay. This wouldn't in any way deter us from staying again, just maybe research alternative parking locations if staying more than a few days ! — Susan Angeanta, 23 Jun 2016
Thank you for an amazing weekend. The cottage is beautiful and we all felt very at home. A wonderful house in a great location. We stayed at 58 Marygate for our annual weekend away which was also a friends 40th. Everything was perfect - absolutely no faults to be found and would love to go again. The house itself has a great layout and is decorated to a very high standard and is spotless. Louise was very easy to communicate with and any question we did have were answered promptly. Lovely, thoughtful touch with the arrival gifts. What a wonderful welcome! We will definitely recommend the cottage to our friends. Thank you and we will be back soon!
— Jo and party, 12 Jun 2016
This cottage was perfect for us! We were a group of 4 adults and 1 toddler (my husband, his mother, my mother, myself and my little guy). Everything was meticulous and so well thought out. Each bedroom had towels and dressing gowns provided. The kitchen had a wonderful welcome basket with goodies and there was milk in the fridge! We were able to have a nice cup of tea and start relaxing immediately! The kitchen also has basic kitchen needs like spices and oils as well as coffee, tea and sugar. I was also very impressed that she provides plastic ware which was perfect for my son to use. She also provides toys, which he loved playing with! The location of the cottage is incredible! We were across the street from the beautiful museum gardens, which was perfect for letting my 3 year old run and play. We were a very short walk to the river and pretty much everything else! We walked everywhere very easily! We even walked to the Sainsburys in about 5 minutes. We also walked to an Indian restaurant called The Raj which was excellent and so convenient! The beds were extremely comfortable and although there is a tiny bit of noise (in the front bedrooms) on the road as people walk or drive by, it is well worth it for the amazing location! I could go on and on about this wonderful cottage, but the best advice I can give is to book it for yourself and you'll be as impressed as we were! Thank you, Louise for everything!! I hope we get to stay again someday! — Juliet, 10 Jun 2016
Just to say the cottage is amazing. We had everything we needed. Also thank you very much for the basket of goodies. Top marks to you! Everything here is of the highest standard, well done! We most certainly will be back! — Gary, Donna and family, 10 Jun 2016
Our 3 generational family had a wonderful visit to York! Your lovely house was perfect. The location is so convenient to all the sights and the modern updates didn't take away from the 300 year old charm of the cottage. We were very comfortable and we hope to return some day. Thank you! — The Yarlettes and Adairs, 03 Jun 2016
Thanks for an amazing stay in your beautiful cottage. The prosecco and the delicious cake went down very well! It was a lovely, relaxing place to stay and we have really enjoyed our time making music in York! We hope to be back soon - what a lovely place! — Consone Quartet, 30 May 2016
Had a fabulous long weekend at 58 Marygate for my 40th birthday. The cottage really is beautiful- just like the pictures!- and the location ideal. We all had the best nights' sleep ever on the super comfortable beds, and the little touches like top of the range gadgets, super soft towels, home baking and milk in the fridge made all the difference. Can't wait to come back with the rest of the family. — Heather Fotheringham, 18 May 2016
The Edinburgh contingent has enjoyed their holiday in York very much indeed, celebrating Grandma's 80th Birthday. It has been good to walk into the City Centre and through the gardens to the Shambles, the Minster, the Great Escape and see the rowing on the river Ouse at the end of Marygate.
The cottage is beautiful, comfortable and so luxuriously appointed. Cooker is a dream! Beds are so comfortable and luxury dressing gowns everywhere! Everything that we hoped for.
— Dorothy, Kathleen, Valerie, Caitlin, Catriona, Rachel and Dylan, 02 May 2016
Can agree totally with the previous comments. School reunion. 4 ladies (left school in 1972). We have had a blast in a beautiful cottage. York has cost us in shopping and entertainment but we return home invigorated, talked out, and with a new skill of belly dancing! Beds excellent - long sleepy nights. Kitchen envy in place! The whole thing has worked wonderfully. Thank you — Rosemary, Mary, Michelle and Fiona, 11 Apr 2016
Stayed here on a girl's weekend (celebrating a half century!) Terrible, terrible! Now we are all deeply dissatisfied with our own homes and need to go home and try to re-create the beauty and style of this gorgeous house! Just the surroundings have left us feeling pampered and the lovely friendly touches have made us feel so welcome. You have created a lovely and special space that has helped us to celebrate a special and memorable time. Thank you for the welcome... we'll be back and will enthusiastically recommend this to others. — Tanya, Ruth, Deborah, Emma, Wendy and Helen, 01 Apr 2016
We just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay at 58 Marygate. The house, location, decor and the very personal small touches made our visit so very special. We had a fabulous time and thank you for your home. Marygate is am amazing cottage in the middle of York and walking distance to everything. Everything we needed for our stay was available as well as a very sweet welcome gift. The interior design is very well done and made use feel very comfortable. Louise was always contactable and available. I would highly recommend a stay here if you are ever in York. — Team Evans, 25 Mar 2016
Gorgeous cottage, all beautifully done. We all felt very comfortable and at home here. Louise was quick to respond to my emails and always friendly. Organised for the keys to be picked up and so we were able to access the property without difficulty. She answered any questions I had, although all instructions were clearly laid out in the house information. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. Recently decorated and tastefully furnished, it was a joy to stay there. The residential area is very quiet and yet you can be in the heart of the city in 5/10 minutes.
Thank you
— Judy , 16 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for above and beyond! We all had an amazing time. — Elaine, Hannah and girls, 16 Mar 2016
What a wonderful cottage! We had a great time. Excellent location. Fantastic level of equipment. — Rob, Sophie, Josh & Elise, 18 Feb 2016
Thank you for a wonderful weekend in your beautiful house! We couldn't have wished for a better house or location. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, would love to come back! — Emma Orton, 15 Feb 2016
58 Marygate is an amazing, perfect cottage in an unbeatable location in the heart of York. It has been sympathetically renovated to enhance its ample character and finished to a very high standard. Everything you need in a holiday cottage has been considered and provided, whether it be board games, Netflix and even dressing gowns. Every little detail has been thought of and Louise made us feel very welcome with the provision of prosecco, home made cake and chocolates on our arrival. You don't expect a holiday cottage to be of this quality. The finish to the cottage is to a very high standard with very tasteful decor. I can't recommend it highly enough for anyone considering a break in York!
— Alex Forward, 15 Feb 2016
Had a wonderful time. Thank you very much for the Prosecco and the cake. The house has been beautifully refurbished with an excellent location. We had a fantastic stay and loved the small touches. We will definitely recommend your house to others. — Adam and Rachael Nayar, 14 Feb 2016