York's Newest Holiday Rental - Situated in central York opposite the Museum Gardens

Reviews

We really hope you enjoyed your stay, please feel free to leave your review of 58 Marygate here: 

Add Guestbook Entry

We came to stay for a few days with extended family for our daughters graduation from the University of York. Lovely cottage, very comfortable. Everything throughout couldn't of been any better! Delicious cake and prosecco welcome. Perfect location - quiet yet easy walk into town. Thank you — The Cawte Family, 16 Jul 2017
We had a fantastic stay. What a beautiful cottage you have! Literally a home from home experience with lots of lovely little added extras. Thanks again — Miles, Bain and Walker families, 04 Jul 2017
Our family loved this beautiful, cozy and clean cottage. It is in the perfect location in York! Very walkable and close to all the great things York had to offer. Louise was friendly and very responsive! Highly recommend this cottage. Louise, Thank you again for a great stay in York. — Frances, 30 Jun 2017
We enjoyed a wondeful stay in 58 Marygate. The house is so attractive and comfortable. We walked everywhere and especially enjoyed strolling through the Museum Gardens! Thank you for a lovely stay. We are already planning a return trip to York! — The Brockingtons, 25 Jun 2017
Thank for allowing us to use your property which i know you have recently renovated with love and care. It has proved to be an extremely convenient base for us to enjoy our wedding nearby and our families were especially impressed with the careful design and results that you have achieved. Many thanks for the trouble you went to help us, and the warm welcome received. Kind Regards, Ashley and Samantha. — Ashley and Samantha, 07 Jun 2017
We have had such a lovely stay in York. The house is beautiful and in a perfect location. It is so clean and well equipped. Thank you for the lovely welcome basket too, a real treat. We would definitely stay again and will recommend to others. thanks — Claire Wojtkiw, 24 May 2017
I can not rate this cottage highly enough. It is perfect in every way. Beautiful, stylish decor. Gorgeous comfy beds and quality linen and towels. Rented this cottage for one week for my adult children, who all live in New Zealand, who had all flown home for my daughters wedding at the Hospitium. We couldn't have wished for a more perfect location. Myself and the bridesmaids could walk through the museum gardens to the venue. Louise had left Prosecco, beers and homemade cake for our arrival. Delicious! Thank you Louise. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend your cottage to all. Five star accommodation. — Caroline and family, 16 May 2017
Thank you very much! Had a great few days - lovely house with all you need. Excellent location. Hope to come back soon. — The Ellis family, 01 May 2017
Two teachers and five students stayed in this cottage for five days in April and we really enjoyed the stay. The cottage is marvelous and we can recommend it to families and others. The location is great, just a short walk through Museum Garden and you are in the city center. York is fantastic. We had a great time in York. We were quite excited about the cottage before we came, but it was as perfect as we thought. Luckily, the cottage has 2,5 bathroom, because we traveled with five teenagers. The kitchen is marvelous: a lot of equipment and space around the table for eating, as well as playing board games. The location was perfect for us and we really explored what York had to offer. Thanks for everything, Louise. We will definitely be back. Greetings from two teachers and five students from Norway. — Nina, 28 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely welcome. We have had a brilliant weekend - just not long enough. We can't wait to return in September to this beautiful cottage! — Elaine and family, 23 Apr 2017
We have had a lovely stay in you lovely cottage. It is very well equipped and is a high standard. The cottage is in an ideal location for exploring York. The 'Yorkshire' hamper was also a great little treat. We have all had a fantastic few days celebrating a big Birthday for one of our friends. We hope to return to this gem of a cottage one day. Thank you — Pam, Georgina, Helen, Julie, Susan (Birthday Girl) Anne, Alison and Janet, 26 Feb 2017
What a beautiful property! Great house for a bridal party - great to get ready in and brilliant for photos. Thanks so much! — Alexandra and her bridesmaids, 19 Feb 2017
Lovely cottage, great location just a little way from the centre. It's a lovely walk through the museum gardens to the city, and not far. We had someone on crutches and 2 in their late 70's with us and the walk was not too far. Louise communicated well with us both before and during our visit and was very helpful. I would highly recommend 58 Marygate. The website won't let me rate cleanliness, accuracy and check-in, but I would give these all 5 stars — Juliet Reid, 10 Feb 2017
HUGE THANKS for sharing your beautiful cottage with our family ove the New Years week!!! We were able to celebrate as a family while enjoying all York has to offer. From welcoming treats to all of your furnishings and conveiences - it was perfect! Your kitchen, living, bed and bath rooms were perfect and gave everyone space to enjoy being with each other!It was also perfectly located for our whole family to visit with our 'York' daughter, son-in-law, and baby, including the very special New Years Baptism. Thank you also for your patience with our questions - and the quick responses. It was much appreciated. If you are ever in San Francisco - don't hesitate to call or email.... Many, many thanks again!!!! — Sara, Chico, Megan, Glynis, Oliver and Mary... and Susanna, Mark and Bram Cooper, 06 Jan 2017
Thank you for making our stay in York so wonderful. The cottage is beautiful and we had a lovely stay. The location is perfect and it made our Christmas stay even more special. Thanks for the drinks and the lovely pies. All gone!!! We hope to return soon. — Abbey, 28 Dec 2016
A quick message to say thank you so much for our wonderful stay- the cottage was perfect. Beautiful furnishings and wonderful location. The mince pies and prosecco were also delightful! Many thanks and Merry Christmas — The Davies family, 23 Dec 2016
We had such a lovely time in York! The house was the perfect stay, the 'home of our dreams', just in front of the museum park (full of squirrels!) The prosecco and the chocolate went down very well! We enjoyed playing music here and we hope we can give you a concert next time, when we will come back! — The Goldfinch Ensemble, 02 Dec 2016
Just a quick note to say thank you for letting us stay in your lovely home. It has been clean and comfortable, great location and very enjoyable, thanks! Just great. We had a lovely time. The house is great, very clean, top quality bed linen, towels, etc. Very close to the centre of town, easily within walking distance. Had a great welcome box with biscuits and wine. There was milk in the fridge and coffee, tea etc. A very comfortable stay and would stay again if we return to York. Thank you so much Louise! — Deborah and family, 25 Nov 2016
The house is very lovely. I really fell in love it with it at first sight. We had a great stay and good night sleep for a week. Thank you for the lovely welcome cake and notes from you. If we have a chance coming back York again, I would honestly say i will definitely choose your house. Thank you for the fabulous accomodation, very warm welcome,Louise Louise is great. The house is perfect to stay, everything is perfect! :)
— Mingkamol from Thailand, 14 Nov 2016
Thank you for everything - from the organising to the fantastic welcoming treats! A perfect location and fantastic place to explore York from. This did not disappoint. Thanks for your place and we will fondly think of this cottage in York. — Wim and team from South Africa, 02 Nov 2016
On behalf of the contingency from Scotland we would like to thank you for your wonderful stay in York in your beautiful cottage. Everything was perfect. We will certainly recommend you to everyone back home. — The Morrisons and The Hamilitons, 14 Oct 2016
Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely house. There was 8 of us celebrating my big 40! The house is lovely with everything in it that we would need. Very luxurious, thank you so much. — Joanne, Hector, Claire, Louise, Arlene, 14 Oct 2016
What a fabulous weekend we had. 7 ladies celebrating a certain "0" birthday. We were blessed with the weather too. Such a fabulous house, great towels and bed linens and comfy beds. Fantastic location. We hope to return one day. Thank you! — Maggie and friends, 03 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for providing a perfect house, cake, goodies, everything we could need! The house is so beautiful, perfectly positioned. It is so central but quiet. I would definitely recommend people staying here! We had a fab time and can't wait to come back!
— Anna and family, 12 Sep 2016
Absolutely lovely house. It was the best stay my family and I have ever had. The little extras make all the difference. What a lovely feel it has! Thank you — Jose, Katie and family, 31 Jul 2016
We had a lovely stay at Marygate! 8 adults and 3 babies... The house is great and thank you so much for the cake and treats. We had a great time singing in the Minster with our choir. — Katie and friends, 29 Jul 2016
Very high quality rental property, beautifully fitted out complete with complimentary bubbles, snacks & home made cakes on arrival. It is in a great location, just across from the museum gardens and a short walk into the heart of York. If I had to find a criticism, the back yard is small and access is through the downstairs bunk bedroom, but this is as described in the details. The owner went out of her way to help us when we asked for a spare set of keys. It is a great base to explore the centre of York from and I would thoroughly recommend it. A wonderful weekend, beautiful cottage, fabulous welcome and good friends. Cheers! — Mandy Nicklin and friends, 18 Jul 2016
Excellente adresse, excellent accueil. La maison de Louise est très confortable et extrêmement bien équipée. On se sent tout de suite très bien dans cette maison. Une attention toute particulière vous est apportée avec des spécialités locales. Bravo Louise pour la décoration très soignée de votre maison! Vous êtes à 2 minutes à pied du centre de York.

We would like to thank you for your warm welcome and your nice house. You made everything easier to help our move back to France. We spent our last days in York after 3 years living in this beautiful City and we couldn't have found a better location! The children could go to school on foot whilst we waited for our house sale to complete. Thanks for the array of help with our baby and your flexibility. We will recommend 58 Marygate (and your cakes) to our family and friends! Thank you once again!
— Juliette and family, 11 Jul 2016
Thank you for a lovely weekend. The cottage is just beautiful. The bag of goodies is a really lovely touch and the cottage is extremely comfortable. We will be recommending the cottage to family and friends! — The McCaitan family, 01 Jul 2016
Our stay at 58 Marygate made our family reunion in York complete. From the moment we entered this charming cottage, we felt relaxed and completely at home. The standard of refurbishment of this cottage is excellent and the attention to detail evident from the quality of bed linen, towels, beautiful bedrooms, tasteful calm decor, bathrooms, and the fabulous custom kitchen. It is also spotlessly clean which is a really, really important factor. Our goodie box with Prosecco, welcome card and beautiful cake made us feel very at home! The location could not be better. A few steps from the front door across the road and you enter Museum gardens where a short walk through this beautiful park leads you straight to the Gates. Two minutes to the right takes you to the river and again, a short walk along the river across Lendel Bridge into town. This cottage is absolutely charming and our only regret was that we couldn't have stayed longer. There isn't any parking with the cottage, and so the use of the rear public car park two minutes away could be costly at £12 per day over a long stay. This wouldn't in any way deter us from staying again, just maybe research alternative parking locations if staying more than a few days ! — Susan Angeanta, 23 Jun 2016
Thank you for an amazing weekend. The cottage is beautiful and we all felt very at home. A wonderful house in a great location. We stayed at 58 Marygate for our annual weekend away which was also a friends 40th. Everything was perfect - absolutely no faults to be found and would love to go again. The house itself has a great layout and is decorated to a very high standard and is spotless. Louise was very easy to communicate with and any question we did have were answered promptly. Lovely, thoughtful touch with the arrival gifts. What a wonderful welcome! We will definitely recommend the cottage to our friends. Thank you and we will be back soon!
— Jo and party, 12 Jun 2016
This cottage was perfect for us! We were a group of 4 adults and 1 toddler (my husband, his mother, my mother, myself and my little guy). Everything was meticulous and so well thought out. Each bedroom had towels and dressing gowns provided. The kitchen had a wonderful welcome basket with goodies and there was milk in the fridge! We were able to have a nice cup of tea and start relaxing immediately! The kitchen also has basic kitchen needs like spices and oils as well as coffee, tea and sugar. I was also very impressed that she provides plastic ware which was perfect for my son to use. She also provides toys, which he loved playing with! The location of the cottage is incredible! We were across the street from the beautiful museum gardens, which was perfect for letting my 3 year old run and play. We were a very short walk to the river and pretty much everything else! We walked everywhere very easily! We even walked to the Sainsburys in about 5 minutes. We also walked to an Indian restaurant called The Raj which was excellent and so convenient! The beds were extremely comfortable and although there is a tiny bit of noise (in the front bedrooms) on the road as people walk or drive by, it is well worth it for the amazing location! I could go on and on about this wonderful cottage, but the best advice I can give is to book it for yourself and you'll be as impressed as we were! Thank you, Louise for everything!! I hope we get to stay again someday! — Juliet, 10 Jun 2016
Just to say the cottage is amazing. We had everything we needed. Also thank you very much for the basket of goodies. Top marks to you! Everything here is of the highest standard, well done! We most certainly will be back! — Gary, Donna and family, 10 Jun 2016
Our 3 generational family had a wonderful visit to York! Your lovely house was perfect. The location is so convenient to all the sights and the modern updates didn't take away from the 300 year old charm of the cottage. We were very comfortable and we hope to return some day. Thank you! — The Yarlettes and Adairs, 03 Jun 2016
Thanks for an amazing stay in your beautiful cottage. The prosecco and the delicious cake went down very well! It was a lovely, relaxing place to stay and we have really enjoyed our time making music in York! We hope to be back soon - what a lovely place! — Consone Quartet, 30 May 2016
Had a fabulous long weekend at 58 Marygate for my 40th birthday. The cottage really is beautiful- just like the pictures!- and the location ideal. We all had the best nights' sleep ever on the super comfortable beds, and the little touches like top of the range gadgets, super soft towels, home baking and milk in the fridge made all the difference. Can't wait to come back with the rest of the family. — Heather Fotheringham, 18 May 2016
The Edinburgh contingent has enjoyed their holiday in York very much indeed, celebrating Grandma's 80th Birthday. It has been good to walk into the City Centre and through the gardens to the Shambles, the Minster, the Great Escape and see the rowing on the river Ouse at the end of Marygate.
The cottage is beautiful, comfortable and so luxuriously appointed. Cooker is a dream! Beds are so comfortable and luxury dressing gowns everywhere! Everything that we hoped for.
— Dorothy, Kathleen, Valerie, Caitlin, Catriona, Rachel and Dylan, 02 May 2016
Can agree totally with the previous comments. School reunion. 4 ladies (left school in 1972). We have had a blast in a beautiful cottage. York has cost us in shopping and entertainment but we return home invigorated, talked out, and with a new skill of belly dancing! Beds excellent - long sleepy nights. Kitchen envy in place! The whole thing has worked wonderfully. Thank you — Rosemary, Mary, Michelle and Fiona, 11 Apr 2016
Stayed here on a girl's weekend (celebrating a half century!) Terrible, terrible! Now we are all deeply dissatisfied with our own homes and need to go home and try to re-create the beauty and style of this gorgeous house! Just the surroundings have left us feeling pampered and the lovely friendly touches have made us feel so welcome. You have created a lovely and special space that has helped us to celebrate a special and memorable time. Thank you for the welcome... we'll be back and will enthusiastically recommend this to others. — Tanya, Ruth, Deborah, Emma, Wendy and Helen, 01 Apr 2016
We just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay at 58 Marygate. The house, location, decor and the very personal small touches made our visit so very special. We had a fabulous time and thank you for your home. Marygate is am amazing cottage in the middle of York and walking distance to everything. Everything we needed for our stay was available as well as a very sweet welcome gift. The interior design is very well done and made use feel very comfortable. Louise was always contactable and available. I would highly recommend a stay here if you are ever in York. — Team Evans, 25 Mar 2016
Gorgeous cottage, all beautifully done. We all felt very comfortable and at home here. Louise was quick to respond to my emails and always friendly. Organised for the keys to be picked up and so we were able to access the property without difficulty. She answered any questions I had, although all instructions were clearly laid out in the house information. The house is beautiful and very comfortable. Recently decorated and tastefully furnished, it was a joy to stay there. The residential area is very quiet and yet you can be in the heart of the city in 5/10 minutes.
Thank you



— Judy , 16 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for above and beyond! We all had an amazing time. — Elaine, Hannah and girls, 16 Mar 2016
What a wonderful cottage! We had a great time. Excellent location. Fantastic level of equipment. — Rob, Sophie, Josh & Elise, 18 Feb 2016
Thank you for a wonderful weekend in your beautiful house! We couldn't have wished for a better house or location. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, would love to come back! — Emma Orton, 15 Feb 2016
58 Marygate is an amazing, perfect cottage in an unbeatable location in the heart of York. It has been sympathetically renovated to enhance its ample character and finished to a very high standard. Everything you need in a holiday cottage has been considered and provided, whether it be board games, Netflix and even dressing gowns. Every little detail has been thought of and Louise made us feel very welcome with the provision of prosecco, home made cake and chocolates on our arrival. You don't expect a holiday cottage to be of this quality. The finish to the cottage is to a very high standard with very tasteful decor. I can't recommend it highly enough for anyone considering a break in York!
— Alex Forward, 15 Feb 2016
Had a wonderful time. Thank you very much for the Prosecco and the cake. The house has been beautifully refurbished with an excellent location. We had a fantastic stay and loved the small touches. We will definitely recommend your house to others. — Adam and Rachael Nayar, 14 Feb 2016